top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStefannie 🦋

YOU PROMISED



What’s a promise ? I’d give you a minute to google that while I put my understanding of a promise here.


A promise is a declaration or assurance that one will do something or that a particular thing will happen.

Extra- To tell someone that you will certainly do something.


You can either keep or break your promise but promises are meant to be kept.



As Christians we go through phases and the road is usually never smooth. But today’s post is to urge us never to lose faith. God has promised according to the holy scripture to bless us. You would never have to go through anything alone.


What has God promised?

  1. I will be with you. (Isaiah 41:10)(Genesis 28:15) (Isaiah 43:2)

  2. I will protect you (Psalm 23:1-6) Proverbs 19:23) (2 Timothy 4:18)

  3. I will be your strength (Isaiah 41:10) (Psalm 46:1-3) (psalm 9:9-10)

  4. I will answer you (1 John 5:15) (Jeremiah 29:12-13) (Ephesians 3:20)

  5. I will provide for you (Proverbs 10:3) (Psalm 107:9) (Matthew 6:31-32)

  6. I will give you peace (John 1427 (Phillipians 4:7) (John 16:33)

  7. I will always love you (1 John 4:19 (John 3:16) (Psalm 86:15)


Now you’re aware of these promises, what’s stopping you from claiming them or do you believe they're not available to you? See the link below for that. https://stephheart09.wixsite.com/fanniesworld/post/activate-his-words


 

So now you know Jehovah’s promises are available to you. I want you to put God in remembrance of his promise when you pray, like Isaiah said.

Remind the Lord of his promises and not your problems.


If you study the prayers of the Bible, you begin to notice that the prayers God honors and answers are those that repeat his promises back to him. For instance David,


“For you, O LORD of hosts, the God of Israel, have made this revelation to your servant, saying, ‘I will build you a house.’ Therefore your servant has found courage to pray this prayer to you.”

How does David have the courage to pray this? If God had not spoken, David would not have had the courage. “Lord, if you had not said this, I would not have asked it, but your promise has given me courage to ask this of you.”


Nehemiah as well knew the power of prayer. He knew that effective prayer begins with the Promises of God. This is one of the most powerful and effective prayers we have. To take the very words of God and pray them back in faith and say,


“God, you said this. I am trusting you to fulfill what you promised you would do.”

We are getting ourselves in line with what God has already said. WHEN YOU PRAY



Say your problem to Jehovah but never stop at the problem. Always follow the problem with the promise. When going through difficulties find promises in the Bible relating to your situation and say it back to God. Example -

• Lord God, my business isn’t moving as I’ve little to no customers but you promised the works of my hands you will bless.
Lord, You promised that I shall return to my house and find nothing missing so thank you Father for protecting my home from marauders at all times.
• People are giving me a tough time at work and I’m undervalued but Almighty Father you promised that the path of the righteous gets brighter and brighter.
• Father Almighty I’m losing taste in my mouth and my sense of smell is gone but Lord, Your Word (Psalm 118:17) says that I shall live and not die, and that Jesus bore my disease at the Cross (1 Peter 2:24) so I receive my healing.
• Jehovah I’ve lost so much in these trying times but I believe in your promise that, you will give me beauty for these ashes.

 

Remind God of the right things, it causes Him to act faster when He hears His promises. You can keep or break your promise but promises are meant to be kept. God has never broken his promise and he won’t start with you.

JACOB

You remember the story of Jacob (If you don’t, see your Bible, don’t stress me 😫) I’m kidding, Jacob had wronged his brother Esau in so many ways, he had cheated him and stolen his birthright.

Esau was so angry that Jacob fled in fear for his life. Jacob had gone to another land to stay with his uncle Leban and was there for nearly 20 years. Inspite of that God had blessed him, he was wealthy, he had a whole family, herds and all that. Jacob wanted to move back and Esua sent a word that he would need him. Jacob was frantic with fear, he was about to see this brother he had wronged badly and had no idea whether Esua was still angry and was going go seek vengeance? So he prayed to Jehovah,

“God please rescue me from my brother for I'm terribly afraid he is going to kill me, my wives and children.” (Gen 32:11)

Jacob understood the principle of praying the promise so he didn't stop at the problem rather he continued;

But you promised to do me good, and to multiply my descendants until they become too many to count.”

After all the bad choices, what did he do ?He went back to the promise God made to him years ago. He met Esua and Esua did not only treat him kindly but also forgave him and welcomed him home.

Why don’t we learn from Jacob and inspite of all our mistakes and giving up why don’t we remind God of his promise to be good to us.

“God you promised to forgive me and not remember my sins, you promised to be good to me.”

Put God in remembrance of what he said not what you feel, not what you deserve or what people are saying about you, say what God says about you. God is not holding your mistakes against you so don’t hold them against yourself. (Topic for another day)


God is obligated to bring to pass his words. He says, “He honors his word more than His name.” And we all know how much he values His name it’s even the second commandment 😩.

Pray this way, first the problem then the promise although you need not remind God of your problems because he already knows them and besides (Matthew 6:7-8)

“Don't recite the same prayer over and over as the heathen do, who think prayers are answered only by repeating them again and again.”

But reminding God of his promises causes him to act faster and it raises faith in you and changes your perspective. Stay open and trust the outcome, God knows what He’s doing ALWAYS !

x



If you need to ask me questions, you can do so through any of my platforms, one of which is by becoming a member on my site. 🖤



271 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page